One Is Too Many, A Thousand Is Never Enough

The title of this post is something I hear on occasion around the church basements & meeting rooms I frequent on a regular basis to keep a really, really, REALLY bad habit from rearing its ugly face in my life again.  I broke that particular habit 16 years ago and God willing, I hope it stays broken for the rest of my life … one day at a time.

Now on to the other liquid substance I am fond of consuming … coffee.  And fond of collecting quotes about too.

Let me use my ever so refined self-justification skills to tell you why drinking an absurd amount of coffee is a positive habit.  Despite the fact my doctor, friends, and family all agree I drink way too much of the stuff.

1.  Scientific research shows there are plenty of health benefits to drinking coffee.  Won’t bore you with all of those fascinating facts, just Google it and you can find out for yourself what they are.  I hear these kinds of facts and figures often on the John Tesh Radio show I like to listen to so if John says it, I believe it.

2.   I get cold easy, all year long.  Holding my freshly brewed cup of joe keeps my hands warm.

3.   It makes me exercise.  Every time I notice my coffee cup is ONLY half full, I get off my butt, walk over to the kitchen, and fill it up.  In between those strolls, I have also been seen sprinting to the bathroom.

4.   It saves me money.  Just about every coffee joint I go to has free wifi and they don’t charge for the use of their bathrooms.  So I save money on how much I have to spend on my internet package and on toilet paper.

5.   Some of that money I save gets put to most excellent use – random acts of kindness.  Once a week, I buy the order behind me at a Tim Horton’s drive-thru.

6.   It inspires my writing in so many ways.  Most of the places I go to outside of my own home to drink my coffee have lots of windows.  I like windows and gaze out of them while I write.  It’s proof I’m “working”, not day dreaming just so you know.  Also, the conversations I get to overhear are priceless for storytelling.  So wonderful in fact I’ve recently started to jot some of them down in a collection of prose of sorts.  And sometimes just a change of scenery can do the trick when I’ve hit one of my walls in my writing.

7.   I get to visit with one of my bestest friends who co-owns a coffee & bistro place in a neighbouring city to where I live.  And he lets me drink my coffee for free so again, I save money.  Now if only he would install an outlet near the booth where I like to sit so I don’t have to get up and move to a table where there is an outlet nearby to juice up my laptop.  Just sayin’.

So there you go.  Just a sampling of why drinking coffee is a great thing in my life.  I’d write more but my coffee pot is empty and my mug is at half mast so gotta go brew some more coffee.
 

In response to today’s Daily Prompt – Breakdown:

Tell us about a habit you’d like to break. Is there any way it can play a positive role in your life?
 


Listen to music. It could save your soul. Be kind. It could save someone’s world. Wear a hat. It could save your life.

 

14 thoughts on “One Is Too Many, A Thousand Is Never Enough

Leave a Reply

