She’s Got A Lovely Bunch Of Coconuts

 

A have a friend.  Well, a few but today I’m going to write about just one of them.  We became friends 4 years ago when we were working at the same place.  I don’t know how it started, but somehow I began calling her ‘Lovely’ as a nickname.  And she is lovely to the uummpphh degree.

Her Instagram stuff is pretty lovely too.  I quite enjoy opening my feed and seeing a new post from her in there.  She sees things in everyday life through her lenses that I don’t see myself.  Until she points them out to me via her B&W photographs and their captions.

We’re as diverse as one of many coconuts hanging off a tree versus a single pea in a pod.  She’s a gorgeous tall blonde, I’m a short salt’n’pepa.  She is vivacious and energetic, I’m quiet and slothful.  She’s the life of the party, I’m the planner and observer of the event.  She’s a traveler, I’m a homebody.  She loves the Toronto Blue Jays, all I know about baseball is what Abbott & Costello have to say about it.  But we have a lot in common too.  The kind of things that really matter in life, in friendship.  If there is such a thing as past lives, then I think we must have been sisters in one of them.

And one thing we have in common is we both have a set of boobies.  Hers are bigger so she doesn’t have to wear the big girl bras I do lucky her.  But I’ve got one thing over her in regards to my set of coconuts – I’ve had pictures taken of them.  The really cool kind that can’t be taken with a phone or a Kodak.  The kind that see beyond the size and shape and get right inside them.  The kind that goes where no man has ever gone with his eyes.  The kind that can only be taken by stripping down naked and getting a mammogram done.

I love my friend Lovely.

Love her so much I’m on a mission to make sure she starts to get her mammos done too.  It’s time and she’s had the req form to get it done for over a year now.  I’ve teased her about that.  I’ve begged and pleaded with her to get it done.  I’ve spammed her with text messages.  I’ve even tried to guilt trip her into it by using her love for her family, my mom’s breast cancer stories, and my own skin cancer saga as ‘motivational speeches’.  But alas, she’s a tough one and doesn’t fall prey to my challenging her very often so it hasn’t worked.

HOWEVER … I have a blog and she doesn’t!  So now I’m going to use this medium to try to convince her to get her mammogram done.  Freedom of speech, gotta love it.  How do you like me now Lovely?  Yeah, I know, you still love me.  Right back at ya darlin’.

But I’m not just going to use my own words to get my point across.  I’m using hers too.  I’ve gone into her Instagram feed and pulled a bunch of her own photos and put them into the gallery below.  With her own words as the captions she used for them.

Lovely follows my blog so she’s going to see this.  But she had fair warning.  I texted her last week that I was about to book my next mammo, and gee, why doesn’t she book hers now too.  And that I was going to post about it.  Her reply:  “ugh”.  She got off lucky that I didn’t mention her in yesterday’s post about it.  But today’s a new day.

 

So to my dear friend Lovely – and to all of the women and men out there who should be getting their mammograms done – please do it.  SOON.  Regular mammograms are the most reliable way to detect breast cancer, as well as diagnose, evaluate, and follow people who have/have had breast cancer.

One small step for you,
one giant leap for your lovely bunch of coconuts.

 

 

 

 I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts,
There they are, all standing in one row,
Big ones, small ones, some as big as your head
Give them a twist, a flick of the wrist,
That’s what the showman said.

“I’ve Got A Lovely Bunch Of Coconuts”, composed by Fred Heatherton

 

Gallery image sources:  all from my friend Lovely’s Instagram account – iseeitblackandwhite.  Used without her permission of course.  But that’s okay.  I think she’ll forgive me.  This time at least.

Featured image source:  another Instagram account, this one debbiebiron’s.  And hey Lovely – her profile pic is the Jays logo – she loves ’em just like you!  You might want to give her a follow.

In response to today’s Daily Prompt:   Diverse


Listen to music.  It could save your soul.  Be kind.  It could save someone’s world.  Wear a hat.  It could save your life.

 

23 thoughts on “She’s Got A Lovely Bunch Of Coconuts

  1. I hope ‘Lovely’ reads the comments left on your post. Here’s my message to Lovely:

    Get them checked! The little inconvenience and discomfort will reward you with peace of mind as well as possible early detection, in the event that something is found. Early detection is the KEY to surviving breast cancer. I know. I am surviving — so far. Too many women’s life spans are cut short enough to not have time to regret their decision to not get the mammo. Please, get it done!

    And… fake “coconuts” have no sensations, real ones are much, much better and well worth precautionary measures to keep them. With good intentions ~ Swoosieque

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marianne you have a lovely sense of humour, which is awesome. In Newfie land they give us appointment in two years. I keep the appointment, there is nothing to worry, it is not a painful procedure. I agree with you this is one thing we all should be serious about. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Ranu. Humour is a great way to spice up some difficult to talk about sometimes topics. Or at least my crazy sense of humour thinks so haha! 🙂
      PS – did you see how I linked yesterday’s post in here? and the few at the bottom of the post? that’s what I was referring to when I commented on your post. Easy peasy!

      Like

  3. Dear Ms. Lovely,
    Hi, you don’t know me. . . I am just a WordPress junky who came across this beautiful friendship story of you and Ms Marianne. Although it was a bit humorous, this sort of thing is not to be taken lightly. For the sake of your lovely coconuts and all those who love them, I encourage you to do it! DO IT…. DO IT…. DO IT…. DO IT…. DO IT

    *starts fist pumping ✊😀✊😀✊😀✊😀✊😀✊😀✊😀✊😀✊😀✊😀
    Clears throat and gets back to normal

    So, my lovely lady, YOU GOT THIS!
    WE ARE ALL CLAPPING!!!!!! 👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ton’0’thanks to you Eva! Fist pumping and all!
      ‘Tis a beautiful friendship we have and I want it to last for a very, very, VERY long time. 🙂
      Thanks again, for the visit, for the note, and for your never-2-much-sugarr-coated encouragement of Lovely’s pending mammogram.
      Wishing you a kindness-filled kinda day … Marianne

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Marianne , and you’re welcome. And if you truly believe without a doubt that you guys still have many years to go. . . then trust me…. Look forward to many more memories to fulfill mama… Stay positive, speak positive words, and believe only the positive…. And you will get positive results 😆😆😆

        **BIG HUGE HUG**
        yours truly, Eva

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Every December I have mine done. Who knew I had fibrous tissue that doesn’t show “C” well at all? After all I have gone through with my melanoma, there is no way I am gonna skip this once-a-year little test. Come on, Lovely–listen to Marianne. We are talking peace of mind, here..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dang Loisa, sorry to hear about the tissues. Glad they’re staying on top of it though via annual exams instead of every 2 years for you.
      Thank you for supporting my beloved Lovely. It will bring her, me, and all who love her peace of mind. A glorious thing to be sure.
      Thanks again, blessings for clear exams for you every December from here til eternity! Marianne

      Liked by 1 person

    • Congrats on your nomination – well done Sunken Thought!
      And thank you for the nomination and shout out my way. I have chosen to be award free. Readers’ comments and likes are good enough for me. 🙂
      Again congrats, I’m looking forward to checking out some of the other sites you in turn nominated … Marianne

      Like

  5. Lovely..how lovely it is to have you here….I’m not much for Marianne’s advice lol bit I do put my faith in her many times…and funny enough she is normally right. So take a leap and go. You will be thankful for a bestie like Marianne and her chatter. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear Lovely:
    With humour or harassment, many people who care about you have tried to convince you to get a mammogram. You’ve heard why it’s good for your health. Preventive medicine. And so on. Still not convinced? Here’s something you may not have thought of. Did you file a tax return last month? How much did you pay to the government? This simple test is one way they pay you back. Yes! The government uses your money to provide this test. Go down to that clinic and demand your share of the pulling and prodding! You earned it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Excellent point Great War, never even thought of it like that, thanks for pointing that out!
      And yes I’m pretty sure she (and many, many others of course) has doled out her fair share of pennies through hard labour to earn them. So yes, Lovely’s earned this mammo. She deserves it. 🙂
      Marianne

      Like

Leave a Reply

