Stolen Words: Brilliant Disguise

In response to today’s Daily Prompt

My former best friend duped me, duped me good and for quite some time.  But that ole friend of mine isn’t in my life anymore.  They are still around, I see them quite often actually, but there’s no place in my life for them anymore.  Hasn’t been for 16 years now.  While the memories aren’t great ones, they are ones I hope I never forget.  They remind me why I chose the life I live today and they help me relate to others who get hoodwinked by that same old friend of mine.  They are my daily reminder of gratitude and hope.

If that best friend I speak of is pulling the wool over your eyes too, know that there are others like me who have been there and can help.  We’re a chatty bunch, enjoy getting together on a frequent basis, and have a fondness for staircases with a certain number of steps in them.  Climbing those steps has taken us to a better life and we’ll show you just how to do the same.  Care to chat more?  Happy to hear that.  Just give one of us a call or find us at one of our regular hangouts.  The door’s always open and the coffee’s always on.  Hope to see you around.


Stolen Words are my compilations of lyrics used to make a new piece of prose of sorts.  The lyrics are “stolen” from the songs I hear while surfing my favourite channels on SiriusXM and Rdio.com.  I hope you enjoy them – I have a blast writing them!

Stolen Words:    Brilliant Disguise

Long ago I reached for you and there you stood   –   So Far Away, Carole King
When I feel alone I reach for you   –   Heaven Is A Place On Earth, Belinda Carlisle
Ever since we met you had a hold on me   –   I Only Want To Be With You, Shelby Lynne

Sing a song of six pence for your sake and take a full bottle of rye   –   Handbags and Gladrags, Rod Stewart
I could smoke and drink and gamble just as I please   –   She Makes Me Happy, Rod Stewart
Every Sunday’s getting more bleak, a fresh poison each week   –   Take Me To Church, Hozier

Well he really worked me over good, just like Jesse James   –   Poor Poor Pitiful Me, Linda Ronstadt
I can’t leave it alone   –   Freedom, Allen Stone
There’s a shadow hanging over me   –   Yesterday, The Beatles

You could say I lost my sense of direction   –   If I Lose My Faith In You, Sting
Everybody’s out on the run tonight but there’s no place left to hide   –   Born To Run, Bruce Springsteen
I’m just a fool waiting on the wrong block   –   Fool In The Rain, Led Zeppelin

I’ve looked at life from both sides now   –   Both Sides Now, Joni Mitchell
Suddenly I see, suddenly I see, why the hell it means so much to me   –   Suddenly I See, K T Tunstall
I can see clearly now, the rain is gone   –   I Can See Clearly Now, Johnny Nash

Want me to take you back, I’m givin’ you the sack so don’t waste your time   –   Little Too Late, Pat Benatar
And take your cap and leave my sweater ’cause we have nothing left to weather   –   You’ll Think Of Me, Keith Urban
I’ve been waiting for this moment all my life   –   In The Air Tonight, Phil Collins

Heaven knows it’s high time   –   This Year’s Love, David Gray
You can stretch right up and touch the sky  –   In The Summertime, Jerry Mungo
Born beneath a wandering star, never thought I’d get this far   –   I Ain’t Gonna Worry No More

Only rainbows after rain, the sun will always come again   –   Keep Your Head Up, Andy Grammer
I’m gonna soak up the sun, I got my 45 on so I can rock on   –   Soak Up The Sun, Sheryl Crow
Oh what a feeling when we’re dancing on the ceiling   –  Dancing On The Ceiling, Lionel Richie

Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our minds   –   Redemption Song, Bob Marley
Wherever this old road ends up winding through   –   Let It Rain (On Me), Mavericks
May good fortune be your constant and loyal friend, and may your winning streak never end   –   Winning Streak, Glen Hansard

20 thoughts on “Stolen Words: Brilliant Disguise

  1. I can relate. I had a friend in college that really fooled me for awhile. Made me think that she’d accepted me for who I truly was. We did eventually make peace, but she’s not in my life anymore. Hold on to those true friends! It’s hard to find the real deal!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh wow Marianne I’m pleasantly impressed with your compilations! I’m curious: how long did it take you to come up/find the right phrases and organize them?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you kindly for your lovely words. Tough question to answer for you though … I “steal” the lyrics as I’m actually listening to the music so it takes awhile to get enough raw material for a piece of the prose. And that really depends on what’s playing while I’m channel surfing and what else I might be doing at the time. After I have enough material to work with, I guess then it’s about an hour or so to put it together in some (hopefully) meaningful flow and order. Most get written in one day, some I need a second day to wait to hear for just the right lyrics to finish a piece up. It’s kinda like putting a jigsaw puzzle together if you will. I thoroughly enjoy the process of getting the idea for a piece and then both hearing and seeing it evolve right before my ears and eyes. Glad you enjoyed this one. Hopefully there will be many more to come! Marianne

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment