Stolen Words: Can I Write The Songs?

 

 
In response to today’s Daily Prompt:  telling about a talent you’d love to have … but don’t.

My kids will tell you the only dance I know is the ‘Mom Dance’ = a two-step kind of jig, not quite in time with the beat but close, shoulders swaying, and hands tapping on hips.  Familiar moves to anyone out there?  My former piano teacher will attest I’m not so instrumentally inclined with my tiny hands and underdeveloped sense of coordination.  And just about anyone who hears me sing will agree with what my childhood church choir master told me:  “you’re tone deaf my child, it’s time to accept it”.

Without any of those talents, I can’t simply rely on my way with words to aspire to be a songwriter.  So I don’t.  It’s just one of those “if you had a magic wand” kind of things to me.  In the meantime, I’m content with reading song lyrics as a genre, quoting them frequently, and stealing them to create my own pieces of prose.  Here’s my latest addition to “Stolen Words”, I hope you enjoy it.  And if you don’t, that’s okay.  Maybe you’ll enjoy the video clip instead.  I wonder if Hemingway drank Chivas?


Can I Write The Songs?

Something’s at the edge of your mind, you don’t know what it is.   –   Magic Power, Triumph
And there are voices that want to be heard.   –   Listen To Your Heart, D.H.T.
I feel the need for contemplation deep down in my soul.   –   Soul Music, Everlast

I took a look inside and this is what I see.   –   Perfect Peace, The Blind Boys of Alabama
I’m hearing images, I’m seeing songs no poet has ever painted.   –   Let The Music Speak, ABBA
New emotions inside my mind, left me wondering where to turn.  –   Highway Song, Leftover Salmon

Waiting for the break of day, searching for something to say.   –   25 Or 6 To 4, Chicago
I’m on my way, I’m taking my time but I don’t know where.   –   Me & Julio Down By The Schoolyard, Paul Simon
Music fills your heart, well that’s a real fine place to start.   –   I Write The Songs, Barry Manilow

Ah it’s just the music, that friendly music, talking to your soul.   –   Music Talk, Stevie Wonder
Music makes pictures and often tells stories.   –   The Music Is You, John Denver
Let the music do the talking.   –   Let The Music Do The Talking, Aerosmith

Words and music make a song for our heart to sing along.   –   Words and Music, Andy Gibb
It is the only think that makes us feel alive.   –   Photograph, Ed Sheeran
People want to hear songs of love.   –   People Want To Hear About Love, Neil Young

Oh give me the beat boys and free my soul.   –   Drift Away, Dobie Gray
I’d like to hear some funky Dixieland.   –   Black Water, Doobie Brothers
That kind of music that just soothes the soul.   –   Old Time Rock and Roll, Bob Seger

Who put the ram in the rama lama ding dong?   –   Who Put The Bomp, Barry Mann
Singin’ do wah diddy diddy down diddy do.   –   Do Wah Diddy Diddy, Manfred Mann
Tom bo li de say de moi ya, jumbo jumbo.   –   All Night Long, Lionel Richie

And I said what about Breakfast At Tiffany’s?   –   Breakfast At Tiffany’s, Deep Blue Something
Scaramouche, Scaramouche will you do the Fandango?   –   Bohemian Rhapsody, Queen
Roll over Beethoven, tell Tchaikovsky the news.   –   Roll Over Beethoven, ELO

I can see Elvis, he’s writing songs for Donald.   –   I Can See Elvis, The Waterboys
‘Cause everybody’s got a song to sing.  –   Rock And Roll Heaven, The Righteous Brothers
This is my heartbeat song and I’m gonna play it.   –   Heartbeat Song, Kelly Clarkson

We get to tell our secrets in a code no one understands.   –   The Songwriters, Willie Nelson
Ah it’s tough out there, a good muse is hard to find.   –   Hemingway’s Whiskey, Kenny Chesney
And who knows, maybe some day I’ll come up with a song.   –   I Believe In Music, Mac Davis
 

11 thoughts on “Stolen Words: Can I Write The Songs?

  1. I really enjoyed reading this – I was surprised that I only knew 3 or 4 songs on your list Paul Simon, Barry Manilow and the awful song by Mannfred Mann (sorry).

    I do love Ed Sheerin’s Photograph it has special meaning for me https://youtu.be/2XIE8IBZCWA
    Thats my son singing.,Talk about talent, he is actually a classical saxophonist but sings in between practicing, composing and writing grants to earn a living as a classical musician.
    Have a listen I think you might enjoy.

    I’ve followed your blog and look forward to reading more you have a great way with words.

    Like

Leave a comment