Stolen Words: This Is Love

Stolen Words are my compilations of lyrics used to make a new piece of prose of sorts.  The lyrics are ‘stolen’ from the songs I hear while listening to SiriusXM.  Below is a piece I wrote in response to the tragic events in Orlando last weekend.

I am not gay.  I am not transgender.  I do not know how it feels to be physically and emotionally attracted to another woman.  I do not know what it is like to not be able to identify with the gender I was born as.

But I do know about love.

And isn’t that what this is all really about here folks?  Love?  Freedom to love whomever we want to?  Freedom to love ourselves just as we damn well are?

I think so.  And because I do, I wrote the piece below.  It came from the brighter side of my heart over the last few days.  I also wrote another piece, one that came from some of my darker thoughts of late.  You can find that one here.

Now, I think it’s time for a little love …


 

Stolen Words:   This Is Love

It’s all that I am, it’s all that I have  –  There Will Be Time, Mumford and Sons
How can I ever change things I feel?  –  Go Your Own Way, Fleetwood Mac
I’m free to choose what I please any old time  –  I’m Free, Stones

Freedom is just another word for nothing left to lose – Me & Bobby McGee, Janis Joplin

Here I am on the short side of nothing –  Short Side Of Nothing, Los Lobos
I’ve done my sentence but committed no crime  –  We Are The Champions, Queen
I’ve been battered, what does it matter, does it matter, uh-huh  –  Shattered, Rolling Stones

Ain’t no man or men that can change the shape my soul is in – Ain’t No Man, Avett Brothers

We start believing now that we can be who we are  –  Grease, Frankie Valli
We are invincible, we know who we are  –  Carry On, fun.
And so become yourself because the past is just a good bye  –  Teach Your Children, Crosby Stills Nash & Young

Don’t you know when you give life then you become what you are – What You Are, Dave Matthews

I climbed a mountain and I turned around  –  Landslide, Fleetwood Mac
I think I see the future  –  Shut Up And Dance, Walk The Moon
The colors of my love, and I will be a rainbow  –  Rainbow, Robert Plant

Don’t forget turn back around, and help the next one in line – Humble And Kind, Tim McGraw

When the walls come tumblin’ down  –  Crumblin’ Down, John Mellencamp
The walls you built within, come tumbling down, and a new world will begin  –  Silent Lucidity, Queensryche
Like make the world brand new  –  World Spins Madly On, Weepies

It’s the way that I feel when I’m with you, brand new – Brand New, Ben Rector

I wanna love you and treat you right  –  Is This Love, Bob Marley & The Wailers
That’s all I’m livin’ for, yeah  –  I Wanna Be Your Lover, Prince
I got a really good heart  –  Two, Ryan Adams & Sheryl Crow

Damn, I’m feeling blessed with all this love – Good To Be Alive (Hallelujah), Andy Grammar

There was love when your life started, and there will be love at the end  –  Ode To A Broken Heart, The Once
And we found love right where we are  –  Thinking Out Loud, Ed Sheeran
We’ve got a beautiful thing going, nothing can stand in our way  –  Beautiful Thing, The Band

If there is something you love, you have to cherish it, stand up for it – Stand Up For It, Brett Dennen

Shoutin’ in the street, gonna take on the world some day  –  We Will Rock You, Queen
Oh move over Rover, and let Jimi take over  –  Fire, Jimi Hendrix
I’m pickin’ up good vibrations  –  Good Vibrations, Beach Boys

No, they can’t take that away from me – They Can’t Take That Away From Me – Tony Bennett & Elvis Costello

It might seem crazy what I’m about to say  –  Happy, Pharrell
Oh I wanna weave you in words  –  When The Daylight Comes, Ian Hunter
And words with so much hope for a brighter day  –  Golden Days, Graham Nash

I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words, how wonderful life is while you’re in the world  –  Your Song, Elton John

If love and peace you treasure, then you’ll hear me when I say  –  Love’s In Need Of Love Today, The Sachal Ensemble
Look in the mirror and keep on shinin’  –  Live Your Life, T. I. & Rihanna
You who once were left behind, will be welcome at love’s table  –  By Way Of Sorrow, Cry Cry Cry

And to those unsung we lift our glass, may their songs become the traveling kind  –  Traveling Kind, Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell

 

Featured image:   kropekk_pl user on pixabay.com, CC0 Public Domain


Listen to music.  It could save your soul.  Be kind.  It could save someone’s world.  Wear a hat.  It could save your life.

 

24 thoughts on “Stolen Words: This Is Love

    • Marianne, your heartfelt communication of your feelings in the way you have here is a beautiful outpouring of love for humanity that really reflects my own natural love of our world, My favourite word is ‘hope’, because it is something we can all do at any moment in our lives and, for me, has turned my love of others into always helping those in need when I can. Thanks for reminding me I am not alone. Anton.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. hi Marianne,

    I think it’s kind of fitting to leave this comment here under this awesome post 🙂
    I’ve nominated you for the quotes challenge ! If you would be happy to take part please see the latest post on my blog. Thanks:) ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Creative Thief, that was a nice compilation of love.
    Now time that we steal some Love and nurture the tree in our heart.
    The Tree of Love is needing some feeding. The more we love the more it grows. The less we love the less does it grow. When it grows less that’s when all less loving actions take place. Isn’t hatred actually ‘less love’ ? I believe there is nothing without love.. not even hatred is .. It’s just needing some good feeding for a healthy growing into a big tree of Love ❤

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

