Why Does Evil Exist? I Dunno.

 

Tonight on the National Geographic Channel:  “The Story Of God” with Morgan Freeman, episode 5 – Why Does Evil Exist?.  9 pm ET / 8 pm CT.  Check your local listings.

I’ve been trying for a couple of days to write a post for today and I just can’t seem to put together anything of substance.  Was trying to write about evil to be in sync with tonight’s episode but I sure as heck don’t have a clue as to what the answer is so nothing to write on there.  Also didn’t want to start a big debate here on the topic, I’ll leave that for the experts.  And nope, I’m not ready to reveal to you all of my dirtiest secrets on the evil acts I have committed in my life.  I will tell you I flip the bird on occasion to other drivers though just so you are reminded I am a perfuctly fecked up human.

Instead I’m just going to give you a few links to explore the topic for yourself in advance of tonight’s episode airing …

Episode Trailer

Discussion Guide

* note – this guide is for the entire mini-series, not just tonight’s episode.  I just read it myself this week and thought it might be of interest to some of you who are following the show along with me.

Through The Wormhole on The Science Channel

* another show with Morgan Freeman I wasn’t previously aware of.  Not currently running but I found some interesting bits here, ie. some discussion on why people lie which seems fitting for tonight’s topic.

And my links wouldn’t be complete without another diner one …

A Pastor, A Rabbi, and an Iman: Evil

 

I like to see the difference between good and evil as kind of like the foul line at a baseball game.  It’s very thin, it’s made of something very flimsy like lime, and if you cross it, it really starts to blur where fair becomes foul and foul becomes fair.

Harlan Coben, author

 

 

Image source:  Señor Codo user on flickr.com, CC2.0 Generic

 


Listen to music.  It could save your soul.  Be kind.  It could save someone’s world.  Wear a hat.  It could save your life.

 

28 thoughts on “Why Does Evil Exist? I Dunno.

    • Thanks so much for that link Jack. It was a very well written post and touched on a lot of the things that have crossed my mind on the topic.
      I’m guessing tonight’s episode will reference some of what you did as well. Really looking forward to it, perhaps you’ll enjoy watching it too.
      Thanks again for the visit, the note, and the link. Wishing you a kindness-filled kinda day … Marianne

      Liked by 1 person

  1. A very interesting topic Marianne. I too have thought about this, a lot. I have encountered people that I thought were just pure evil and figured that was the only explanation for the things they did. I will take a look at your suggested links to help me with these thoughts. Once again, great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jack,
    The age old question of morality, good and evil, how do we know what is right and what is wrong, is one of the 4 biggest questions in life that we all face.
    Origin, morality, meaning, and destiny. At one time or another, we all wonder about the answers to these questions.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Without evil, we could not appreciate good. A world without evil would eventually devolve back into a world of both good and evil if from nothing else but boredom. Just imagine every day in your life being sunny and mild. If we never knew anything else, would we appreciate sunny and mild? No. It would be take for granted.

    In a world without evil, we cannot choose to be good.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think evil exists because Satan promised to spread evil when he was thrown out of Paradise. He claimed he was fire, he wasn’t going to bow to one who was made of clay. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is definitely one of the theories for sure and many others are of the same mindset as you Ranu. It was touched on a few times in last night’s show.
      Interestingly enough, the show also told of a religion I had not heard of before, one of the world’s oldest, called Zoroastrianism. For that religion, a fire temple is their place of worship.
      I really liked the creed of the Zoroastrians: Good Thoughts, Good Words, Good Deeds.
      Marianne

      Like

  5. This is inherently a philosophical question, and the question assumes evil does in fact exist, which may be true. But there are other explanations. For example, evil does not exist and people are simply ignorant. Who thought this idea? Socrates!

    I study philosophy, so this was right up my alley. Food for thought 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yes Robert, how philosophical it is. Hence why I don’t claim to have any answer to it!
      You’re very right though, it does assume evil exists which to some is merely a theory, while others it is a belief, and others claim its nonexistence. Definitely food for thought and added some new flavour to this discussion here.
      Thanks for the visit and the note. Hope you’re having a kindness-filled kinda day … Marianne

      Like

  6. One day a while back I took a long look at the word: evil. Then I got it into my head that I could turn the word backwards. I just wasn’t satisfied with it being such a thorn in people’s side, in my side. I no longer think of it in the same way because I know that I can “live” in spite of the evil in the world. I don’t have to buy into it. I can “live” my life, and if I want to do something positive about the ways of the world, I can be the change I seek. That almost entirely takes my mind off of the evil. I can “live” my best life regardless. I can also be an example to those who might think otherwise.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are so very right Sparky Jen. I actually almost included mention that one of the anagrams for evil is live in the post. Excellent reference to it, especially the bit about being that change you seek.
      Thanks for the visit and your insightful comment. I hope you’re having a kindness-filled kinda day … Marianne

      Like

    • Again, I dunno. Another very wide open question there that I don’t have a concrete answer for.
      Perhaps how one would define coffee, or music, or a candle as examples? They don’t necessarily have opposites and can be described with words.
      Hmm … now you’ve got me thinking about this some more though. I like that so thanks for that. And the visit and the note too of course.
      Marianne

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m hoping to catch up on the series on “On Demand.” I tried to stay awake last night to watch it, but Sandman had other ideas for me. Insofar as “Good and Evil”… (and this is deep thinking) would/could it be possible for one to exist without the other? I mean, yin and yang, dark and light, sweet and sour??? Could there be some ethereal balance in the Universe which “requires” opposites?

    So, there you go, possible thoughts for another post. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

