Stolen Words: Annie’s Song

Stolen Words are my compilations of lyrics used to make a new piece of prose of sorts.  The lyrics are ‘stolen’ from the songs I hear while surfing my favourite channels on SiriusXM.  I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I enjoy writing them.

“Annie’s Song” is written in memory of the wife of a blogging pal of mine who passed away last month.  Her name was Ann Bryce (Oct 1928 – Feb 2016). While I was working on this piece, it brought a tear to my eye when John Denver’s “Annie’s Song” came on one of the channels.  Much to my kids’ chagrins in having to listen to it, I have been a lover of Denver’s music since I was just a wee one.  I’m sure I have over a dozen of his records in my vinyl collection.  Anyway, I knew in that moment it would be the title, even though I don’t have a clue as to whether Ann was ever called Annie.

So to extend my condolences to my friend Herb and to honour his wife of 50 years Ann, I dedicate this post.  One day, you shall waltz again together beyond the sunset, where angels meet to dance.  Until then, blessings and prayers … Marianne


Stolen Words:   Annie’s Song

I’ve known it from the moment we met, no doubt in my mind where you belong – To Make You Feel My Love, Bob Dylan
Call it luck, call it smart, somehow he won her heart – She Took His Breath Away, James King
We made a vow, just you and me – Before You Go, Sam Harris
Darling so it goes, some things are meant to be – Can’t Help Falling In Love, Twenty One Pilots (cover)

Act one was when me met, I loved you at first glance – Are You Lonesome Tonight, Elvis
Though the binding cracks and the pages start to yellow, I’ll be in love with you – Longer, Dan Fogelberg
Each memory of you as I read through, is worth more than silver and gold – That Old Book Of Mine, Flatt & Scrubbs
It’s our story now to tell – Take Us Home, Alan Doyle

Oh the rhythm of my heart is beating like a drum, with the words ‘I love you’ rolling off my tongue – Rhythm Of My Heart, Rod Stewart
Her rhythm is my beating heart – So She Dances, Josh Groban
You’re the pulse that I’ve always needed – Gone Gone Gone, Phillip Phillips
Sometimes all I need is the air that I breathe and to love you – The Air That I Breathe, The Hollies

Baby I’m a man, maybe I’m a lonely man, who’s in the middle of something that he doesn’t really understand – Maybe I’m Amazed, Paul McCartney
So hard to find my way now that I’m on my own – Brown Eyed Girl, Van Morrison
My head’s spinning around, I can’t see clear no more – Love Me Like You Do, Elle Goulding
Just a loneliness rising like the sun – Golden Sorrow, Blackie & The Rodeo Kings

And I ain’t done nothing since I woke up today – Angel From Montgomery, John Prine
The very thought of you and I forget to do the little ordinary things that everyone ought to do – The Very Thought Of You, Nancy Wilson (cover)
Even now I think about you as I’m climbing up the stairs – Even Now, Barry Manilow
Hello walls, how’d things go for you today, don’t you miss her – Hello Walls, Willie Nelson (cover)

Now the evening’s come and I’m all alone – Chill In The Air, Amos Lee
The windows are illuminated by the evening sunshine through them, fiery gems only for you, only for you – Our House, Crosby Stills & Nash
Memories that come at night take me to another time – Photographs And Memories, Jim Croce
If I’m worried and I can’t sleep, I count my blessings instead of sheep – White Christmas musical

And I’m just dreaming counting the ways to where you are – 100 Years, Five For Fighting
I may never get over missing you so long, I’ll try, I’ll try – Try, Escondido
What I’d give just to hold you right here for forever – Gone Too Soon, Sarah Jarosz
I want to dance with you, hold you in my arms once more, that’s what they invented dancin’ for – I Just Want To Dance With You, George Strait

You’ll always be a part of me – Always Something There To Remind Me, Naked Eyes
The best part of me was always you – Breakeven, The Script
You’re my end and my beginning – All Of Me, John Legend
I belong with you, you belong with me, you’re my sweetheart – Ho Hey, The Lumineers

You fill up my senses like a night in the forest, like the mountains in springtime, like a walk in the rain – Annie’s Song, John Denver
And it seems to me that I’m wrapped up in your love – I’m Still In Love With You, Al Green
You’re all that I’ve ever known, when you smile on your face all I see is a glow – All My Life, K-Ci & Jojo
And love comes from the corner of a smile – She’s That Kind Of Mystery, Bill Morrissey

Oh now I feel it comin’ back again, like a rollin’ thunder chasing the wind – Lightning Crashes, Live
And life flows on within you and without you – Within You Without You, Beatles
One day when the sun is shining there will be that silver lining – You Took My Breath Away, Traveling Wilburys
One shaft of light that shows the way – A Kind Of Magic, Queen

Everybody wants to go to heaven – Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven, Loretta Lynn
But heaven couldn’t wait for you, no heaven couldn’t wait for you – Heaven, Beyoncé
Hey Lord, would ya look out for her tonight, and make sure that all her dreams are sweet – Travelin’ Prayer, Billy Joel
Well if you see her, tell her there is room for her in my arms, in my arms – Here In My Arms, Leon Bridges

I know God is on my side, so why am I waiting for another sign – Destiny Blues, Eric Bibb
You’re the nearest thing to heaven that I’ve seen – On Top Of The World, Carpenters
God speed your love to me – Unchained Melody, LeAnn Rimes (cover)
I’m gonna love you forever and ever amen – Forever And Ever Amen, Randy Travis

Love lift us up to where we belong – Up Where We Belong, Joe Cocker & Jennifer Warnes
But pave me the way to you – Save Me, k. d. lang
Time’s forever frozen still – Photograph, Ed Sheeran
Oh sweet darlin’ you get the best of my love – Best Of My Love, Eagles

It helps to think we might be wishing on the same bright star – Somewhere Out There, James Ingram & Linda Ronstadt
I miss you darling, more and more everyday, as Heaven would miss the stars above – Faded Love, Ray Price & Willie Nelson
And I thank my lucky stars that you are who you are – Your Smiling Face, James Taylor
And tell all the stars above, this is dedicated to the one I love – Dedicated To The One I Love, The Shirelles

 

Image source:  Herb’s blog – Books, Blogs and Butterflies

 

Also in response to today’s Daily Prompt – Fleeting

 


Listen to music. It could save your soul. Be kind. It could save someone’s world. Wear a hat. It could save your life.

 

33 thoughts on “Stolen Words: Annie’s Song

  1. Oh God, my dear, you touch my heart. How absolutely beautiful. Marianne, my Ann was named Annie on her birth certificate! And only I called her Annie.
    And John Denver was big in the world when I brought her to Canada from England where I met her. So was the incomparable Neil Diamond.
    A young lady, who shared a holiday, along with her aunt, with us and our little ones, detected that I wasn’t huge on heavy or acid, or stoned rock and roll. She asked me if I liked those two gentlemen. I did. And I do. …

    Well, listening to John just now got me really Perfuctly Fecked up. Music does that to me.

    Bless your lovely heart for honouring my Annie and for sharing.

    You’re the best. Lots of love to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. a lot of songs there but I have to say that John Denver was one of my all time favorites and Annie’s song always stops me in my tracks. I saw him at the Capital Center play in maybe 1972-3 and again in Saratoga Springs Ny 1990 something. He always breaks my heart

    Liked by 2 people

      • I have a several of his old records that we still listen to even now on the record player that my husband bought me a couple of years ago. Some of them too scratched. That concert in Saratoga. We brought his mother. She had never heard of him. It rained hard that night. We had outdoor seating. There were not many on the lawn due to the rain. We sat under a walkway in lawn chairs and umbrellas. I remember his mother cried. She like you could not withhold her tears. He touched her that much. I will never forget that.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. I still cry, too, when I see the John Denver concert PBS, at least around here, airs during their fund raising campaigns. Such a delightful talent, gone way too soon, but at least doing something he loved to do!

    I like the “favorites” you’ve used here, mainly because I recognize (and still like to hear) most of them. What a great tribute (idea) for your friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always find it interesting to see how many different types of folks, from all walks of life, all generations, are moved to tears by his music. Makes me feel a little more “normal” in my love for his music. And, happy to see someone who does recognize most of the tunes I stole the lyrics from!
      Thanks for the visit, hope you are having a kindness filled kinda day … Marianne

      Like

Leave a Reply

