I Wore It, Rocked It, & Bluesed It

Me Blues Festival

This past weekend, I was a lucky gal.  I spent my time from Thursday through Sunday over in Kitchener helping out a friend of mine who co-owns Kava Bean Bistro in the downtown core.  I was there to give him and the rest of the team an extra set of hands, legs, wheels, and maybe some laughs while the Kitchener Blues Festival was taking place all around them.  And yes, as you can see in the pic to the left … I wore that gosh darn hat!  I didn’t just wear it, I ROCKED IT!  The festival t-shirt and the sponsor backstage VIP pass helped a little too.

Kava is located right in the heart of the festival, just a block in either direction from where the two main stages were.  So we saw a lot of folks coming by for their cup’o’joe, a Slushie float, or an all day breakfast, among other fine bevies and cuisine.  Kava was also a sponsor of the festival and provided the coffee for the volunteers, and coffee and food for all of the performers and stage tech teams.  And if that wasn’t enough to keep us busy, we also had a vendor spot over in Victoria Park selling cold drinks, battered mushrooms, and deep fried pickles!  Suffice it to say all staff worked some really long hours all weekend, as did the friends and some family members, including my youngest daughter who came to lend a hand on Saturday & Sunday.  A huge congratulatory shout-out to Sparky, Mike, and everyone on the Kava festival team.  Job well done.  No, I take that back.  It was a job really freakin’ fantabulously done!

Beyond drinking a lot of great coffee [read: probably too much coffee], I had the luxury of taking in the sights and sounds of some really terrific blues performers.  The running around I was doing between the restaurant, all of the stages, and the park afforded me the opportunity to hear parts of sets here and there.  I’m not a music expert by any means, but I know what I like and I liked it all.

Rather than show my lack of blues music knowledge with some undereducated attempt at a review of the festival, I’ll just say it was awesome and grace you with a playlist of some of the best I heard over the weekend.  Well, actually I didn’t jot down all of the exact tunes I heard so this set list of sorts is instead just some wonderful songs by some of the artists my ears had the immense pleasure of listening to.  You’ll likely recognize some of the names below, while the others are some great indie blues bands well known around the circuits in my neck of the woods in Southern Ontario.  Happy listening!
 
spotify:user:alongthesideoftheroad:playlist:6ZgwfgLoQrev4QTTnmjObW
 


Listen to music. It could save your soul. Be kind. It could save someone’s world. Wear a hat. It could save your life.

 

25 thoughts on “I Wore It, Rocked It, & Bluesed It

  1. I love a good Blues Festival! Summertime Fun at its best. But the big Wow1 to me is how you got that playlist on your site? I’d love to do that with Around ZuZu’s Barn. I’m not sure what I’d choose, but the mind boggles at the opportunities. Thanks…. Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You have been nominated for the Liebster Award

    Rules for the Liebster Award:

    Once you are nominated,

    Make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.
    Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post too.
    Nominate 5 -10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they
    have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.
    Ensure all of these bloggers have less than 200 followers.
    Answer the eleven questions asked to you by the person who nominated you, and make eleven questions of your own for your nominees or you may use the same questions.
    Lastly, COPY these rules in the post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

