S.M.A.R.T. – Not Just For Goal Setting

Maybe you’ve been there … the dreaded performance review with da boss.  Fitness or weight loss coach helping you get your health on track.  The Christmas Bazaar committee deciding how to blow away the competition this year.  Regardless of why, chances are you have set goals before.  And many of you may have used the S.M.A.R.T. way of doing it.  For those who need a refresher or don’t know about S.M.A.R.T. yet, here’s what it stands for:

S  –  Specific
M  –  Measurable
A  –  Achievable
R  –  Relevant
T  –  Time-bound

NOTE:  There are variations to the words assigned to the acronym but they are generally interchangeable with the ones noted above, ie. attainable instead of achievable.  Refer to this Wiki article for more information on the S.M.A.R.T. acronym and different definitions for it.

When I think back to the many, many times I have set personal or professional goals, I am reminded of the people who were involved in it and the feedback they provided.  Some were great – they actively participated in a discussion with me.  Some not so much – they just nodded their heads and said “mm-hm” every now and then.  Most were somewhere in between.  Here is my best example of someone who was an ally in my goal setting process:

  • The boss who made me scrap a goal entirely and rewrite it “doubly” as he said.  He thought I was capable of more, and knew I was hesitant to believe the same, so he pushed me to stretch myself.  The rewritten goal had me aspiring to do twice as much, in half the time, with double the number of desired positive impacts.

Wow eh?  Didn’t think that at the time, maybe whoa, but definitely not wow.  Until I started to work on that goal.  Then I got my wow moments.

I think what made that boss so great at giving me feedback was that he used the S.M.A.R.T. acronym himself.  He was SPECIFIC, telling me in no uncertain words why he thought my original goal wasn’t a good fit.  When he suggested the re-write, he told me in MEASURABLE terms what to do with it:  make it “doubly”.  His heightened sense of ACHIEVABILITY encouraged me.  The feedback he gave was RELEVANT, not just to help me but to help me help him, our organization, and our clients.  And his instructions to come up with a new goal were TIME-BOUND:  I had one hour to do it.

The Day Eight assignment for the Blogging 101 course I am in right now is called “Be A Good Neighbor”:

Leave comments on at least four blogs that you’ve never commented on before.

Easiest assignment we’ve had yet, for me at least.  I’m great at telling people what I think.  My kids might not always feel that way, but that’s okay, they’ll get over it.

The task details include some terrific tips on crafting a “thoughtful comment” to contribute to the conversation.  Doing so respectfully of course.  And an extension of that idea:  if you wouldn’t say it to someone’s face, don’t say it in their comment thread.

As I set out to do my homework, I’m going to keep that boss I had in days gone by in mind.  Where possible, I will apply one of the S.M.A.R.T. acronym words to leaving my thought-prints behind on other people’s blogs.  Oh what the heck, scrap that notion.  In his honour, I’m upping the ante and doing it “doubly”:  I will use two parts of S.M.A.R.T. in my comments.  Watch out classmates, I have a goal and I plan on achieving it!
 

“Shoot for the moon.  Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.”

Norman Vincent Peale

 
 
Image source:   pixelcreatures, pixabay.com, CC0

10 thoughts on “S.M.A.R.T. – Not Just For Goal Setting

  1. “Shoot for the moon,even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.” It really sounds wonderful. I read your post about , S.M.A.R.T, it to me is a good way of doing things. You are fortunate you had a boss who took the time to explain what you are capable of doing. Right now I’m also trying to be a good neighbor and am looking for blogs I’d like to follow and write my comment. I am glad I found you,now I need two more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

