Stolen Words: My Saturday In The Park

Stolen Music notesWords are my compilations of lyrics used to make a short piece of prose of sorts.  The lyrics are “stolen” from the various tunes I hear while I surf my favourite channels on SiriusXM.  Hope you enjoy them.  I have a blast writing them!

 

My Saturday In The Park

“Saturday in the park, I think it was the 4th of July”  –  Saturday In The Park, Chicago
“It’s a new day for the planet, a new day for the sun”  –  A New Day For Love, Neil Young
“Blue skies over my head, give me another reason to get out of bed”  –  Blue Skies, Tom Waits
 
“Hello lamppost, whatcha knowing?, I’ve come to watch your flowers growing”  –  59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy), Lee Coulter (covering Simon & Garfunkel)
“See the paper layin’ in the sidewalk, a little music from the house next door”  –  Summer Breeze, Seals & Croft
“It’s a beautiful day in this neighbourhood”  –  Mr. Roger’s Neighbourhood, Jason Mraz
 
“Sitting til the sun goes down, in dreams the world keeps going ’round and ’round”  –  Can’t Get It Out Of My Head, ELO
“My head is stuck in the clouds”  –  Rhythm Of Love, Plain White T’s
“As the world revolved around me, I could only say I could dream all day”  –  Dream All Day, The Posies

“I blew out my flip flop, stepped on a pop top”  –  Margaritaville, Jimmy Buffet
“I feel the earth move under my feet”  –  I Feel The Earth Move, Carole King
“With your chrome heart shining in the sun, long may you run”  –  Long May You Run, Neil Young & Stephen Stills
 
“Take me on to the place where one reviews life’s mystery”  –  Catch And Release, Matt Simons
“Watch over me with a mother’s eyes”  –  Save Me, k. d. lang
“Oh can’t you see what you’ve done for me, oh yeah, I am happy inside all, all of the time”  –  Satisfy My Soul, Bob Marley
 
“Even when the skies are turning gray, ah, you’re gonna welcome in the rain, yeah”  –  Raise The Spirit, Grant-Lee Phillips
“Make it rain love, love, love is sunshine oh yes”  –  Shower The People, James Taylor
“And if the sun refused to shine, I would still be loving you”  –  Thank You, Led Zeppelin
 
“Hope that you spend your days, but that they all add up, and when that sun goes down, that you raise your cup”  –  I Lived, One Republic
“Yeah darlin’ go make it happen, take the world in a love embrace”  –  Born To Be Wild, Steppenwolf
“Night is falling, and I am falling, dance with me”  –  Dance With Me, Orleans
 
 
Sat Jul 4 15.  Written while visiting Marianne’s Park (how aptly titled!) in downtown Guelph, Ontario, where I live.  This park is one of my “go to” places when I want to write away from my desk at home.  Here’s a pick of the sign for the park.

 

Marianne's Park Guelph
 
 
Top photo source: geralt user on pixabay.com

Leave a Reply

