Tomorrow Never Comes

“The future starts today, not tomorrow.”

Pope John Paul II

 
“Tomorrow never comes”, I said to my then 14-yr old a few months ago.

“Yes it does,” she replied, “tomorrow’s Friday and when midnight comes, it will be Friday.”

“But on Friday, tomorrow then becomes Saturday which will be the next day”, I responded.  “So tomorrow never comes.”

Silence.  Baffle.  Bewilderment.  I loved watching every second of it rush through my child as she contemplated my words.  We debated the topic for a few more minutes and then I got to quite enjoy words I’m sure other parents like to hear their children utter:  “I guess you’re right.”  Yes, beloved child, mom is right again.

Today’s Daily Prompt asked me if I had the power to predict the future (at a per use cost of living one day less), how would I use it, if at all.  Loaded question, simple answer:  no I wouldn’t use it.  In fact, I wouldn’t use the opposite super-power either, one to be able to go back into the past.

While my mind and heart may visit those two eternities ambiguously, my soul is kept alive through each and every single breath my body takes.  Definitively and in the moment.  Alzheimer’s could take my mind from me.  Coronary artery disease could take my heart from me.  But nothing can take my soul from me.  It is me, my guiding force, my entire existence beyond physical and material things.  My life’s reason and my reason for living.  My soul is my unique fingerprint in the database of the pilgrimage of life.  I soul therefore I am.

What is the cost of knowing tomorrow’s agenda?  One less tomorrow.  Premature soul death.

What is the cost living today just the way it presents itself?  A breath of life in my soul.  Priceless.

soul

Photo source:  The Chinese symbol for soul from cultural-china.com

4 thoughts on “Tomorrow Never Comes

  1. Very interesting. The title drew me in and then the quote from John Paul II kept me. I found it interesting it because of what you were saying on the soul. ‘My life’s reason and my reason for living.’ Do you mean that human beings can find their ultimate reason for being in themselves, their ultimate happiness and were we to have an existence after this life where we had just ourselves and self contemplation, that would be enough?

    Like

    • When I wrote it, I meant it in a simpler context: my body is just a home for my soul. My body defines the what of me – short, blue eyes, epileptic. My soul defines the who of me – writer, grateful, mom. The body does so the soul can be. I am a human being, not a human doing. God breathed life into my soul hence “my life’s reason”. “My reason for living” = trying to be the person He intended for me to be. Does that make sense to you? Marianne

      Like

        • “I am a human being, not a human doing. Don’t equate your self-worth with how well you do things in life. You aren’t what you do. If you are what you do, then when you don’t…you aren’t.” – Dr. Wayne Dyer … a quote from one of my favourite authors. I read his “There’s A Spiritual Solution To Every Problem” book at least once a year. That book is largely based on the the Prayer of St. Francis of Assisi so based on what your site is about, I think you’d enjoy reading it if you haven’t already. Google “human being not human doing” and you’ll take yourself on a pretty amazing adventure. 🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

