Aye B’y, I Got Some More Canajun Music There Hosers

Massey Hall

Last week, in response to a Daily Prompt, I posted a Canadian music playlist.  Well, I have so much great Canadian music in my library, I thought I’d share some more with you.

But first, a note about this picture.  It’s Massey Hall in Toronto, Ontario.  Those infamous red doors have been welcoming concert-goers since 1894.

Picture by Danielle Scott on flickr.com  (public domain)

 

Now, onto your Canadian Eh? playlist #2 …

“This Beat Goes On / Switchin’ To Glide”   ∼   The Kings.  This song is from the first cassette that I owned (that didn’t come with a story book that is).  Wore several of these cassettes out I’m sure.

“We’re Here For A Good Time”   ∼   Trooper.  First live band I saw.  This song and others by Trooper were played at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics.

“Making It Work”   ∼   Doug & The Slugs.  Saw them a few times at a bar one of my high school friend’s dad owned in London, Ontario.

“Voodoo Boogie”   ∼   Jack de Keyzer.  Bar-hopped to see this guy perform his blues and even ran into him a few times in our neighbourhood (he lived near me) during my time in Toronto.

“Let’s Shout”   ∼   Colin James.  And yet another great Canadian blues player and rock, pop, and even swing too.  Saw him in his early years a few times.

“Mull River Shuffle”   ∼   Rankin Family.  Yeppers, saw these East-Coaster folks too.  Can’t sit still when this song plays.

“The Night That Pat Murphy Died”   ∼   Great Big Sea.   They’re still on my concert bucket list but if I die before that happens, then at least this song is on my funeral playlist.

“Darlin'”   ∼   Johnny Reid.  His voice melts me.  A pinch of Springsteen, a dash of Bob Seger, and enough Rod Stewart, according to the New York Post.  Hope to see him on a Christmas tour.

“Any Man Of Mine”   ∼   Shania Twain.  Best selling female artist in the history of country music, internationally that is, not just here in Canada.  On tour now.

“Could I Have This Dance”   ∼   Anne Murray.  Okay, I’ll admit it, I do have a bit of a soft spot for a few of her songs.  This one is popular at weddings if you’re looking for one for your first dance.

“Takin’ Care Of Business”   ∼   BTO aka Bachman-Turner Overdrive.  I used to line dance to this song when I still lived up north.  USED TO, I said.  Still a redneck, but don’t do line dancin’ no more.  Oopps, I mean I don’t line dance anymore.

“She Ain’t Pretty”   ∼   Northern Pikes.  Canadians don’t do one hit wonders.  We do two hit wonders.  This band is one of our contributors.

“Simple”   ∼   k. d. lang.  Largely known outside of Canada for her duet with Roy Orbison of his original hit “Crying”“Simple” is the song that wrapped up the tribute to Johnny Carson on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, shortly after Carson’s death.

“A Rock Star Bucks A Coffee Shop”   ∼   Neil Young & Promise Of The Real.  First single from Neil’s latest album, The Monsanto Years, done in collaboration (and now touring) with the band that Willie Nelson’s son, Lukas, is in.

 

Leave a Reply

