A Baker’s Dozen For Your Father’s Day Playlist

I like lists.  This includes song playlists.  In spite of all the computer, cell phone, and satellite technology that’s out there, I still like to make mixed CDs.  Often, those CDs have a theme to them.  Therefore, I need themed playlists to make the CDs.

With Father’s Day coming up this Sunday, I’m already starting to hear ‘dad songs’ on the radio and the online/satellite providers I listen to.  I’ll admit, I’m not really into Father’s Day (or Mother’s Day or Valentine’s Day for that matter) so I’m not planning on making a ‘dad CD’.  But I thought I’d throw together some of the songs that would be on my Father’s Day CD if I were to make one.  Maybe some of these will provide some inspiration for your own playlists, themed or otherwise.

Some notes first:

  1. I’m a newbie to blogging and haven’t yet figured out how to set up and embed audio stuff yet so this list will be just that, a list (except for the last one).  Happy YouTubing / iTuning.
  2. Yes, some of them are sappy.  A dose of sappy every now and then is good for the soul.
  3. No, you likely won’t recognize some songs.  I didn’t either but discovered some great tunes in this eclectic mix.

A Baker’s Dozen For Your Father’s Day Playlist:

•   My Father’s House by Bruce Springsteen.  (Ben Harper’s cover is my pick for this song.)

•   Father To Son by Phil Collins.  (Kinda neat that the video includes his own family.)

•   Father, Son by Peter Gabriel.

•   Father And Daughter by Paul Simon.

•   Papa Don’t Take No Mess by James Brown.

•   Color Him Father by The Winstons.

•   They Don’t Make ‘Em Like My Daddy Anymore by Loretta Lynn.

•   My Dad by Paul Petersen.

•   Fathers & Mothers by Lukas Nelson (Willie’s son) & The Promise Of Real

•   Remember Me by Steve Earle.

•   Unforgettable by Nat King Cole & Natalie Cole.

•   Daddy’s Hands by Holly Dunn.

•   A Boy Named Sue by Johnny Cash.  (Had to include The Man In Black in here)

Leave a Reply

