Gratitude in Hindsight … 20:20

Source:  medicineppt.com

Source: medicineppt.com

A little over a year ago, I broke a foot. Crushed most of the little bones on top, all of the big ones were fine so healing came easy and relatively quickly. For that, I am grateful. Also thankful it was my left foot so I was still able to drive.

What I wasn’t feeling gratitude for at the time was that the injury slowed me down. A lot. Physically obviously but it slowed my mind down too. Only after it first made it sprint though. I lost that race. Or so I thought at the time.

I returned to work right away (read: right after leaving the ER), but I still got a little stir crazy from the rest of my newly acquired “quiet time”. However, eventually my thoughts went from random and generally meaningless scatterings of words, to focused and consequential thought patterns. The aftermath was the commencement of a midlife crisis that has changed my life for the better in more ways than I could ever have imagined.

Looking back to the spring of 2014 with a 20:20 vision clarity, I hope to remain forever grateful for at that juncture in my life being blind, crippled, and crazy.

“I’d Rather Be Blind, Crippled and Crazy” – Peter Wolf, Fool’s Parade, 1998

One thought on “Gratitude in Hindsight … 20:20

Leave a Reply

