Finding My Velvet Underground

Velvet Underground San Francisco

Source: Alex Darocy, via localwiki.org

On Tuesday, I got to scratch another one off my concert bucket list:  Fleetwood Mac.  Before singing Gypsy, Stevie Nicks shared a little story about the song.  In the first line, she mentions the Velvet Underground, a clothing store in San Francisco where idols of hers such as Janis Joplin and Grace Slick had bought pieces for their rock’n’roll diva wardrobes.  She recounted the first time she went there and quickly realized that she couldn’t afford anything.  But that wasn’t what mattered at the time.  What moved her was standing on the same floor surrounded by the same four walls touching the same clothes that her idols had touched.  And that one day she too would buy from there.

Long story short – she encouraged the audience to always hang tight to their dreams.

Her story really resonated with me and Gypsy now has a new meaning for me.

So thanks Stevie.  I’ve already added you to the Acknowledgements page for Along The Side Of The Road.

And now I’m off to find my own Velvet Underground.

“To the gypsy that remains faces freedom with a little fear” – Gypsy, Fleetwood Mac, Mirage, 1982

3 thoughts on “Finding My Velvet Underground

  1. I know that the Velvet Underground is no longer around, but do you know where the store was located exactly. There is no record or info on the internet about that store at all. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

